[ Archive News ]

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Crowns Bill Frye

Beebe, Arkansas (01/29/11)  The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series held its 2010 Night of Champions banquet on Saturday night at the Holiday Inn Conference Center in Little Rock, Arkansas. 

The night was full of special honors as well as big announcements. The biggest announcement of the evening involved the renaming of the tour from the COMP Cams MSRA to the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series. 

Memphis, Tennessee-based COMP Cams has increased their involvement with the tour for 2011 and beyond, and with the new name comes a new era for the tour. Series CEO, Chris Ellis, addressed the crowd in regards to the big announcement by commenting, "the series is honored to have such a well-respected and quality company, such as COMP Cams, making the decision to increase their involvement with our tour. This is a mutually-benefitting partnership, and as a series we couldn't be more excited and determined to properly represent the COMP Cams brand."

With the new name comes a new series logo as well as a new series website, which can now be found at www.COMPDirt.com .

Several drivers were recognized for their 2010 season achievements with Greenbrier, Arkansas driver, Bill Frye, being crowned as the 2010 COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Champion. Although no stranger to championships in various series, this marked Frye's first ever COMP Cams Super Dirt Series title. He joins Joey Mack (2007 and 2008) and Billy Moyer Jr. (2009) as the only series' champions. On hand to present the check to Frye was COMP Cams representative, David McCarver.

The balance of the drivers in the top ten in the final standings were recognized for their achievements, and that group consisted of Kyle Beard, Jon Mitchell, Jeff Floyd, Joey Mack, Brandon Smith, Jon Kirby, Shane Stephens, Eddie Provence, and Terry Henson.

Bill Frye was also recognized as the 2010 COMP Cams Top Performer for winning four tour events in 2011, which was more than any other driver.
Jeff Floyd was presented with the JFR Graphics Pole Qualifier Award after amassing more pole positions than any other competitor during the course of 2010.

Joey Mack was honored as the Larry Shaw Hard Charger for the 2010 season after passing more cars than any driver in COMP Cams Super Dirt Series sanctioned competition.

The series also recognized Jim Thompson of RiceTec for his long time support of the sport, Jeff Floyd for starting every feature in the history of the series, and Phil and Judy Santee of Malden Speedway for their promotional efforts with the series.

Ellis addressed the crowd in regards to the 2011 schedule, which currently boasts 25 dates with the possibility of a few additions. The 2011 COMP Cams Super Dirt Series season will open on March 26th at I-30 Speedway in Little Rock, Arkansas. New tracks on the tour for the 2011 season include Drew County Speedway (Monticello, Arkansas), Thunderbird Speedway (Muskogee, Oklahoma), and Ark-La-Tex Speedway (Vivian, LA). The tour will also make a return to Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, Arkansas) after a one year absence.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, JFR Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, Boomland, BSB Manufacturing, Boston's Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .